B4SA level 3 guidance note

On 28 May 2020, Minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (the Minister) promulgated amendments to the regulations in terms of the Disaster Management Act, 2002 (the Regulations), providing the legal framework for Alert Level (AL) 3, to which the whole of South Africa will move from 1 June 2020.

As amended, the Regulations are now structured in three broad parts: (i) general measures governing the national response to the state of disaster in overarching terms; (ii) a chapter setting out the law applicable under AL4; and (iii) a further chapter dealing with the situation under AL3. AL5 is not dealt with explicitly, but the list of essential services that was applicable during the initial lockdown period is still appended to the Regulations as Annexure D.

Read more: B4SA Level 3 guidance note


Scroll to top